‘Artisan’ bread – and other clichés

I saw on TV how they make those little textured patterns on posh breads – they use a basket!

I chucked the two-year-old pot pourri out of a suitable looking basket in our house, gave it a bit of a wash, and here is the result:

A round loaf with patterns on it.

Could have been rounder!

The bread is 1 sachet yeast, 100g Canadian extra strong white flour, 150g wholegrain flour, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp honey, a splash of olive oil, 180ml water, on the ‘pizza dough’ setting on my bread machine. Then I knocked the dough back, modelled it into a round, and put it onto the basket to rise after VERY HEAVILY flouring the domed surface that was going to be in contact with the basket. (I wonder if I should have oiled the basket as well?) Let it rise for 45 mins, then turn onto an oiled baking sheet and bake in a hot oven (220°C) for 30 minutes.

I’ll be a bit more careful with the transfer to the baking sheet next time, as the loaf isn’t particularly circular.

This set me to musing about the trend for food clichés. ‘Artisan bread’. What’s that all about? I suppose you can also have ‘artisan cheese’, but you never hear the word attached to other products. ‘Artisan Jams’? ‘Artisan Digestive Biscuits’?

Another one I find amusing is ‘rustic’. You only have to see a TV chef starting to knock up a lumpy pie, or be generally making a mess on a plate to know that you are going to hear the word ‘rustic’ very shortly.

Finally, can anyone ever use pomegranate seeds in anything without it being ‘bejewelled’?

Anyway, I’m having my ‘artisan’ bread with my ‘slow roasted’, ‘rustic’ tomato and basil soup, which will likely be ‘bejewelled’ with little blobs of olive oil. So there.

2 responses to “‘Artisan’ bread – and other clichés

Leave a Reply

