Cucumber smoothie

This invention was prompted by – as usual with me – an allotment glut of cucumbers. I’m also testing out my new ‘Vitamix’ machine.

3 of your 10-a-day!

Smoothie of cucumber, lime, apple and ginger

6″ section of cucumber
1 apple
1 lime
a small knob of ginger (about as big as the top joint of your thumb)
5 ice cubes
0.5 pint of water
a scrap of sugar

  1. Peel the cucumber and cut into chunks
  2. Quarter and core the apple. Leave unpeeled.
  3. Peel the lime with a knife, removing skin and pith. Cut into 3 or 4 slices across.
  4. Peel ginger. Cut into 2 or 3 bits.
  5. Add water, sugar (minimal, to taste. Remember the lime is very sharp and needs some balancing) and ice cubes and blend like mad. I run my Vitamix at high speed for 20 seconds or so. It’s one horsepower motor frightens the life out of me!

Pour into a glass. I find drinking smoothies through a straw really enhances the experience; I don’t like the raft of sludge you get stuck to your top lip if you drink straight from the glass!

3 responses to “Cucumber smoothie

  1. Pingback: Sucrose… fructose… who knows? | High & tight in Brixham

Leave a Reply

