NaNoWriMo Winner!

Winner-2014-Web-Banner

I’m engaging my ‘smug mode’ this morning. I challenged myself to do NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) this month, and succeeded! My novel is now… well… written. Unfortunately it’s a long way off me letting anyone actually READ it because I need to reread it, edit it, revise it myself first. But, it exists!

I didn’t think it possible five weeks ago. I realised it would involve me writing about 2,000 words a day, every day, for the whole month. I write my stuff longhand, with pen and paper, then transfer it by two-finger typing to the computer. I didn’t think I could physically do 2,000 words a day like that. In fact, it was proving very tough, so mid month I did a few experiments. I tried speaking the words into my Sony tablet, using ‘Evernote’. Doh! I couldn’t make it capitalise. Then it would miss a few words, so I would say them again, and it would do them twice. Finally I gave up when I said ‘illuminated reindeer’ and it converted it to ‘nominated philanderer’. (And what was I doing with an ‘illuminated reindeer’ anyway in my novel? Ah! You’ll have to read it and find out…)

We went away for a mini-break, so I was forced away from my laptop, and ‘Word’. ‘Evernote’ and the Sony tablet came up trumps this time. I typed my novel into a series of notes in ‘Evernote’. Using the predictive text was fast and accurate for me, and I achieved previously unheard of speeds of typing (for me, anyway). The only problem I had was when I selected the wrong word from the predictive offering on the top bar, but that didn’t happen very often.

I learned a lot, and enjoyed the process. I’ve only written short stories before, and it was quite nice having a whole gang of intricate characters at my beck and call. I rather miss them, now. I might have to start another novel…

10 responses to “NaNoWriMo Winner!

    • Thanks! Yes, I’m very good right now. Having monthly Denosumab for my bones; it’s working really well, and I have very little bone pain. Just keeping my fingers crossed we can hold it all back for a long time.

  1. I hope your re-reading and editing is less challenging than the two fingered typing and nominated philanderer because I’d very much like to know more about the illuminated reindeer…Great to see you back on your blog again too😊

    • Thanks! The thrill is wearing off a bit now. Rereading it, it looks hackneyed and clumsy, after looking so brilliant when I finished it on Sunday. Doh! I think it’s going to be a while before it appears on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

